Home Page
Home Page

Meet the Governors

Governing Body

St Katherine's School & Nursery run their governing body based on the Pyramid Model. The Full Governing Body meet at least six times a year and the Finance & Strategy Committee meet at least three times a year; other meetings may be scheduled as  needed.


The governors of St. Katherine's School are as follows:


Mr. J. Edgar - Chair (LEA) (Safeguarding Governor)
Mrs. J. Friel-Vice Chair (Co-opted) (Pupil Premium & SEN&D Governor) 

Mrs. R. Powell (Headteacher)
Mr. M. Campbell (Co-Opted)

Mr. D. Wise (Co-opted)

Mr. M. Fletcher (Parent)

Mrs. C. Loveland (Staff)

Mr. N. Vickers (Associate)

Miss S Aikenhead (Associate) 




All communications to the governors should be via the School Office.


Instrument of Government St. Katherine's School

Chair and Vice Chair




John Edgar is a Local Authority governor.

John is now retired after a career, firstly in Finance and then Operations Management. In addition to the time he devotes to St Katherine’s he keeps busy by advising and supporting 2 start-ups, a technical services company and a London based entertainment venue.

His involvement with St Katherine’s began when his daughter attended the school and he first joined the governing body as a Parent Governor in 1998. Around this time his wife began volunteering in school, she then worked as a Teaching Assistant and she still works in school today as PA to the teaching staff.

At the end of his term as a parent governor John was asked to stay on as a co-opted governor and then appointed as an LA governor.

John was elected as Chair of Governors in November 2012.



Jane Friel is a co-opted governor.

After initially being voted a parent Governor in 2010, Jane has remained on the governing body as a co-opted governor. 

Jane has two children, both of whom have attended the school, one now at University, the other in his final year at St Katherine’s having being there since starting at 3 years old in the Nursery!

Her professional background is in the Financial Services Industry and Legal services.

She is the Chair of the Learning and Development Committee and is currently the Vice Chair.  She is in the process of completing the National College Chairs’ Programme which has helped enhance her knowledge of the requirements of members of a School Governing Body.